



Title:	Agenda			
Date:	Tuesday 28 June 2016			
Time:	10.00 am			
Venue:	Conference Chamber (West) West Suffolk House Western Way Bury St Edmunds			
Full Members:	<b>Chairman</b> To be elected			
	Vice Chairman To be elected			
		<u>Forest Heath</u> <u>District Council</u>	<u>St Edmundsbury</u> <u>Borough Council</u>	
	<u>Conservative Group</u> <u>Members (9)</u>	Chris Barker David Bowman Ruth Bowman Rona Burt	Alaric Pugh David Roach Angela Rushen Peter Thompson Jim Thorndyke	
	<u>UKIP Group</u> <u>Members (</u> 2)	Reg Silvester	John Burns	
	West Suffolk Independent Group Member (1)	David Palmer		
Substitutes:	<u>Conservative</u> <u>Members (</u> 2)	Colin Noble	Sara Mildmay-White	
	<u>UKIP Group</u> <u>Member (</u> 1)		Tony Brown	
	<u>West Suffolk</u> <u>Independent Group</u> <u>Member (1)</u>	Simon Cole		
	(Note: the composition of this Working Group has now been reviewed based on the political balance of both Councils, as confirmed at the Forest Heath District Council Annual Council meeting on 11 May 2016 and at the St Edmundsbury Borough Council Annual Council meeting on 19 May 2016).			
Interests – Declaration and Restriction on Participation:	Members are reminded of their responsibility to declare any disclosable pecuniary interest not entered in the Authority's register or local non pecuniary interest which they have in any item of business on the agenda (subject to the exception for sensitive information) and to leave the meeting prior to discussion and voting on an item in which they have a disclosable pecuniary interest.			

## Page No

Quorum:	Three Members from each Council	
Committee administrator:	Sharon Turner Demogratic Services Officer (Cabinet)	
administrator:	Democratic Services Officer (Cabinet) <b>Tel:</b> 01638 719237	
	Email: sharon.turner@westsuffolk.gov.uk	

# Public Information West Suffolk working together



Venue:	Conference Chamber (West) West Suffolk House Western Way Bury St Edmunds Suffolk IP33 3YU Conies of the agenda and repo	Tel: 01638 719000 Email: democratic.services@westsuffolk. gov.uk Web: www.westsuffolk.gov.uk	
agenda and reports before	Copies of the agenda and reports are open for public inspection at the following addresses:		
the meeting:	District Offices College Heath Road Mildenhall Bury St Edmunds Suffolk IP28 7EY	West Suffolk House Western Way Bury St Edmunds Suffolk IP33 3YU	
Attendance at meetings:	Both Forest Heath and St Edmundsbury Councils actively welcomes members of the public and the press to attend its meetings and holds as many of its meetings as possible in public.		
Public speaking:	There is no provision for members of the public to ask questions or make statements during the West Suffolk Joint Growth Steering Group meetings.		
Disabled access:	West Suffolk House has facilities for people with mobility impairments including a lift and wheelchair accessible WCs. However in the event of an emergency use of the lift is restricted for health and safety reasons.  Visitor parking is at the car park at the front of the building and there are a number of accessible spaces.		
Induction loop:	An Induction loop is available for meetings held in the Conference Chamber.		
Recording of meetings:	The Council may record this meeting and permits members of the public and media to record or broadcast it as well (when the media and public are not lawfully excluded).		
	Any member of the public who attends a meeting and objects to being filmed should advise the Committee Administrator who will instruct that they are not included in the filming.		

## **Agenda**

## **Procedural Matters**

#### 1. Election of Chairman for 2016/2017

Within the Forest Heath District Council (FHDC) and St Edmundsbury Borough Council (SEBC) Constitutions, the Terms of Reference for the West Suffolk Joint Growth Steering Group state that:

"2. The Steering Group comprises 12 Members, six from each Council. The Chairmanship and Vice-Chairmanship will rotate annually between the two Councils.

The Chairman for 2015/2016 was Councillor David Bowman (FHDC). Therefore, the Chairman for 2016/2017 should be drawn from SEBC.

#### 2. Election of Vice Chairman for 2016/2017

The Vice Chairman for 2015/2016 was Councillor Alaric Pugh (SEBC). Therefore, the Chairman for 2016/2017 should be drawn from FHDC.

#### 3. Apologies for Absence

#### 4. Substitutes

5. Minutes 1 - 4

To confirm the minutes of the meeting held on 10 May 2016 (copy attached).

## Part 1 - Public

### 6. Highways Infrastructure in West Suffolk (Presentation)

This item will take the form of a 30 minute presentation, followed by questions from the Members of the Group.

Dave Watson, Transport Strategy Manager, Suffolk County Council will be in attendance for this item.

#### 7. Business Festival 2016 - Update (Verbal)

#### 8. **Dates of Future Meetings**

To note the dates of future meetings as follows:

District Offices, Mildenhall Tuesday 11 October 2016 10.00 am

Tuesday 21 February 2017 West Suffolk House, 10.00 am

Bury St Edmunds

Additional meetings of the Steering Group can also be arranged as and when required.